I Need The Accountability

On May 11th, 2013 I will be 30 years old.  I know it’s typical, in our society, that when a woman reaches 30 she starts examining her life and health more closely.  I hate being “typical” but honestly, that is where my mind has been lately…

I am pretty healthy, I haven’t been sick since the winter of 09’/10′ but after having had 5 kids in 9 years, I am overweight…I currently weigh 20 pounds more, and 1 1/2 sizes bigger than I was when I got married (I’m at that that awkward annoying “in between sizes” phase where size 14’s are a bit baggy and loose and I can fit into 12’s but they are a bit tighter than is comfortable for me to be wearing..)

So, this blog is going into “weightloss mode” for 1 month, from today April 11th till May 11th, 2013…ALL weightloss, ALL the time! lol 😉

We just finished up the homeschooling for the year, Elijah and Solomon both finished the state required standardized testing yesterday, so, with school out I will have more time to devote to the weightloss thing.  I love the accountability that blogging offers, I am always too willing to let myself down on things like this, but if I am obligated to share it with you I’ll be less likely to fail.  I’m a stubborn individual but I am pretty laid back (I hate kicking my own ass) but once I finally decide on a course of action I stick with it no matter what, come Hell or High Water, as the saying goes.. and that is the exact mentality that I am going into this with…

If you’ve read my blog for any length of time then you probably know that I am very big into the low carb thing and have been for many years now.  I eat way less sugar than the average person, and I very much recommend “The Optimal Diet” which is what I will be doing my best to follow most closely during this time.  I wrote a blog post on about 8 months ago that you can read at the below link:

The Optimal Diet

My diet currently consists of 12 oz. of coffee w/ about 4 oz. raw goat’s milk in the morning with a big “mid-day meal” (around 1 pm) usually consisting of salad and hardboiled eggs and bacon (I LOVE BACON) and a oil and vinegar dressing.

I might have a snack of olives and a bit of goat cheese, I almost always have a BIG GLASS of raw goat’s milk somewheres in there too…I also like beer and drink 2-3 (sometimes 4)  in an evening, from about 5 or 6 pm to midnight, but I will be cutting that back of course!

At dinner I eat low carb half of the time, but not always, sometimes having things like a slice of homemade pizza with plenty of meat or pasta w/ meat a veggies and when I make fresh french bread I like to have a very thin slice with goat cheese on it.  I also like to have dark chocolate a couple of times a week and I love ice cream but rarely ever eat it anymore…

And that is that, pretty boring to most people.  We don’t eat boxed breakfast cereal or prepackaged store-bought anything!

Okay, well I do have store-bought organic saltines, but that’s it really.  We basically eat lots of meat, eggs, goat’s milk and vegetables..if we want a “treat” like cake or cookies I make them from scratch, I make myself WORK for treats! …so, for that reason, we don’t really eat those things very often 😉

For exercise, well it’s springtime now, with PLENTY to do outside.  I have done formal exercise in the past, but, truth be told, I HATE IT!

I want to live and work and let my work be my workout.

Every day I milk 3 goats twice a day, I feed them 50 pound bales of hay and haul 2 water buckets (which weigh about 30 pounds each when filled to the top) from the creek which is about 80 feet away from the goat shed.  There is plenty of digging and planting and weeding to be done of course and to up the ante, for a bit more action, I also take daily hikes in our 7 acres of woods…all UPHILL hiking, except for on the way back down, then it’s all downhill, obviously.  There is also the physical activity involved with keeping the house clean and chasing after our 5 kids, I am pretty physically fit…fitter than most women my age…I just want a little less fat padding my body is all.

Instead of weight this time, I am going to do measurements because I feel that it is a better way of  tracking body changes.  Weight, like the blowing of the wind, is fickle and too easily affected, but measurements are a more concrete and solid, showing REAL change.  And so I will be taking my measurements once a week, on Thursdays.

So, here are my beginning measurements with goals:

Bust: 41″ (goal = stay same?  or not lose too much from chest lol 😉 )

Waist: 35″ (32″ or smaller, I had a 30″ waist on my wedding day)

Hips: 46″ (43″ or smaller, I had 40″ hips on my wedding day)

And here is a "before" picture, just for the record, I ran outside and had my almost 10 year old son, Elijah, snap this picture of me

And here is a “before” picture, just for the record. I ran outside and had my almost 10 year old son, Elijah, snap this picture of me 🙂

and, to give you some perspective of how far I have come, here is how I looked 2 months after giving birth to my 5 child..the second baby in 2 years (I had my daughter in 2010 and my son exactly 1 year and 1 week later in 2011)

and, to give you some perspective of how far I have come, here is how I looked 2 months after giving birth to my 5th child..the second baby in 2 years (I had my daughter in 2010 and my son exactly 1 year and 1 week later in 2011)…this is a scanned photo so please excuse the low quality

And, so it starts!  If you feel so inclined please join me in my weightloss journey for the next month.  I will be having daily posts covering everything I know about weightloss and nutrition! 😀

3 thoughts on “I Need The Accountability

  1. Good luck with the weight loss! You have came a long way already from what I can see in the pictures. How much weight/inches have you lost already?

  2. I don’t know, as I didn’t weigh myself or take measurements then…I didn’t want to know! 😉 But if I had to guesstimate I would say I was around 220 pounds, and that was in September of 2011….at the beginning of 2012 I finally weighed myself and clocked in at 211…now, the last time I weighed myself was about a week ago and I was at 185. I weighed 165 when I got married, and that’s the 20 pounds that I want to lose 🙂

  3. This is timely for me as well, I’ll be 39 on May 3! I have a hunch I’m gluten sensitive so I’m in the process of revamping my diet from that standpoint- I feel horrid and this seems like a good place to start lol! I resisted this idea at first because it seems so “trendy” right now, but maybe there’s a reason for that! I’ve followed your blog since the beginning and reading here feels like coming home lol! Carry on, fellow Taurus hehe!

Leave a Reply

