Results and Soup

Well, it’s been 1 week since I began this latest quest to to lose weight and, just like I said I would, I took my measurements this morning as soon as I woke up, after using the bathroom and before eating or drinking anything and I am very happy to report that I have lost a total of 3 inches in 1 week!

So, my new measurements are as follows:

Bust: 40″ (-1 inch lost)

Waist: 34″ (-1 inch lost)

Hips: 45″ (-1 inch lost)

I’m not gonna include a picture, as I don’t think that a 1 inch lost all around would be very noticeable, but I did notice for the first time that my shorts were feeling looser yesterday 🙂

Soup’s ON!

It’s RAMP season ’round here right now (for those who do not know what a RAMP is, it’s a wild leek that grows prolifically ALL OVER our woods during the months of April and May and it’s a major food tradition here in West Virginia to eat as much as you can in as many was as you can lol) and Nathan and the 3 older boys took a trek into the woods and dug up about 3 pounds of RAMPS which I used to make a lovely and delicious homegrown dinner of Creamy RAMP and Chicken Soup using goat’s milk and chicken broth and leftover chicken meat from the chickens that we killed a few days ago, along with 2-3 egg yolks from our hens to thicken the soup.

This is our improvised "vegetable washing station" that we use to wash things harvested from the garden or foraged from the woods

This is our improvised “vegetable washing station” that we use to wash things harvested from the garden or foraged from the woods

we found this blue crate on the land (along with LOTS of other junk) when we first bought the place...it has holes on the bottom, making it perfect as a makeshift "sink"

we found this blue crate on the land (along with LOTS of other junk) when we first bought the place…it has holes in the bottom, making it perfect as a makeshift “sink”

a big ass bowl of RAMPS...all cleaned up!

a big ass bowl of RAMPS…all cleaned up!

for the soup I used about 20 RAMPS, here I was getting ready to cut them up when my 5 year old son Matthew said he wanted his picture taken with them since he helped dig them up :)

for the soup I used about 20 RAMPS, here I was getting ready to cut them up when my 5 year old son Matthew said he wanted his picture taken with them since he helped dig them up 🙂

the soup as it cooks...

the soup as it cooks…

For the soup, I chopped a bunch of RAMPS, all of the white part and about 1/3 of the green part (the rest of the green tops I fed to the goats, the love RAMPS and greeted me with RAMP breath for this morning’s milking lol)…I then sauted the chopped RAMPS in some butter until carmelized and then to that I added about 4 cups of homemade chicken broth and 4 cups of homegrown goat’s milk and let that come up to heat.

Now to thicken the soup and give a luscious creaminess, I added in 3 egg yolks from our hens.  First, separate the yolks from the whites and then beat the yolks till foamy and then using a process called “tempering” I add a little bit of soup at a time to the egg yolks (like 1 tsp. at a time at first) while continuously whisking the yolks.  This “tempers” the yolks, bringing them up to the same temperature as the soup without turning them into scrambled eggs.  It is very important that you go slowly with this step, once the mixture of egg yolks and soup in the bowl is about the same temperature as the soup in the pot you can mix it all in the pot.  Then very slowly over low heat bring the soup up to a near boil, if you do this right then your soup will become thick and creamy…do it wrong and you’ll end up with something like egg drop soup, still edible but not nearly as tasty!

soup all dished up and cooling

soup all dished up and cooling

mache and radish sprouts

mache and radish sprouts

While Nathan and the older boys were in the woods digging RAMPS, the two toddlers and I stayed behind to get some gardening work done.  I picked lots of mache and thinned out my radish patch, so as a side to our soup we had salads of mache and radish sprouts dressed very simply with some extra virgin olive oil, raw apple cider vinegar and lots of moist grey sea salt and freshly ground pepper.  And to round out the meal, everybody (except me) had slices of freshly baked homemade french bread with butter!

3 thoughts on “Results and Soup

  1. Really enjoy your posts, thanks for keeping them up. And congratulations on inch loss. Very exciting to feel that waistband expand!

Leave a Reply

