Cancelled (for now)

I have cancelled “The Homestead Diet” (wherein I eat only food grown on our homestead) for now, at least until my milk separator comes in the mail (hopefully sometime this weekend)…until then, my daily diet still consists of about 75% homegrown food.  I have also cancelled taking my measurements this Thursday because it’s “that time” of the month and as all women know that is so not the time to be weighing oneself or taking one’s body measurements…pesky hormone issues causing all sorts of bodily misrepresentations 😉  …so I will hold off on that till next Thursday.

I can say though, that for the week that I did “The Homestead Diet”, I lost 3.7 pounds and I am very happy with that loss!  (and it’s becoming more physically noticeable, just check out my new pic in the sidebar …)

Bacon and Egg Salad

Bacon and Egg Salad

But I am glad to be not so restricted in my eating, I missed having bacon lol (we really need to start raisin’ pigs!)…my main “go-to” meal during the growing season is always a nice salad of miscellaneous garden veggies, with 2 hardboiled eggs from our hens chopped and sprinkled on top, along with 2-3 slices of bacon crumbled on top and some raisins and a vinaigrette made from bacon grease, olive oil, raw apple cider vinegar, mustard powder, a bit of stevia for sweetness, a finely minced clove of garlic and moist grey sea salt and freshly ground pepper to taste.

However, I have also grown to really love my “green smoothies”.  And have been having them for breakfast nearly every single day with the above described salad for lunch.  I recently started adding some “Tangy Tangerine” (a plant based vitamin powder) to my shakes and the citrus flavor goes really well with the spinach.  The shakes have now morphed into 1.5 cups of our RAW goat’s milk, 3 egg yolks from our hens, a BIG bunch of spinach from the garden, a dash of vanilla extract and some stevia…combined with the “tangerine” flavor of the vitamin powder it ends up tasting like an orange creamsicle, like having dessert for breakfast! 😀

What I am most looking forward too though is getting that milk separator and making ice cream from goat cream and egg yolks, sweetened with stevia and anything else I feel like adding…soon there will be strawberries and I could make 100% homegrown strawberry ice cream..now, THAT would be wild 🙂

3 thoughts on “Cancelled (for now)

  1. Any chance you would include your vinegrette recipe? I know that sounds stupid but everytime I make one it is horrible.

  2. Sure! It’s 1 clove of garlic finely minced, 1 tbsp. bacon grease, 2 tbsp. extra virgin olive oil, 3 tbsp. raw apple cider vinegar, 2 tsp. stevia in the raw (or sugar), 1/4 tsp. dry mustard, 1/2 tsp. salt, and pepper to taste….whisk all of that together till smooth, makes enough dressing for one large salad 🙂

Leave a Reply

