Waking The Fallen

I have been a huge fan of the band Avenged Sevenfold for going on 11 years now.  I love their music.  They are purehearted, original, and true to their core…although most of their songs are about religion and especially about dealing with the human condition here on earth and taking vengeance against evil, I wouldn’t necessarily call them “christian” for they are much more universal than that, many of their songs profess belief in God and in being an eternal being and that all darkness will become light.  Politically, they are not liberal commie democrats and the lead singer M.Shadows has said that he is a republican, they’ve also done more than a few politically charged songs as well.  My most favorite album of theirs is “Waking The Fallen” it was the first of theirs that I ever owned and it came out in 2003…I have every line memorized, every melody, every guitar solo, every part of it I know through and through by heart.  The first three songs on that album are “Waking The Fallen” and “Unholy Confessions” and “Chapter 4” which begins with the awakening of the soul to full consciousness and then from there goes into God’s sorrow and love for the sin tainted creatures that his creation has become.

1. Waking The Fallen

Wake the Ones and rise tonight
Fallen souls we shine so bright
Rise now and ever
forgotten memories
No one can touch us
(This is the awakening of the souls, fallen in the eyes of The World, but now they will shine so bright…Chosen now and forever, no one can touch us.)

2. Unholy Confessions

“I’ll try,” she said as he walked away.
“Try not to lose you.”
Two vibrant hearts could change.
Nothing tears the being more than deception,
unmasked fear.
“I’ll be here waiting tested and secure.”

(Throughout scripture the relationship between God and His Chosen Beloved is often symbolically represented by a woman and her man, Jesus and The Church, it is no different here…The Chosen Beloved is the “she” and God is the “he”.
“Two vibrant hearts could change. Nothing tears the being more that deception, unmasked fear” – a reference to the earthly human condition we find ourselves in and have to battle through, which is our test. God The Creator, often referred to throughout their lyrics as “One” or “The One” selects those of his own who are birthed into this earthly existence to be tested. In a sense dropping us off and walking away, the test being that we must find our way back to him, and in the process of doing so not lose him, not selling out to The World System and losing our souls along The Way. When he returns His Chosen Beloved will be here waiting for him “tested and secure”)

Nothing hurts my world,
just affects the ones around me
When sin’s deep in my blood,
you’ll be the one to fall.

(This whole pre-chorus is His Chosen Beloved speaking about her experience in this earthly existence and even though she is covered in sin she will be redeemed while all others fall.)

I wish I could be the one,
the one who won’t care at all
But being the one on the stand,
I know the way to go, no one’s guiding me.
When time soaked with blood turns its back,
I know it’s hard to fall.
Confided in me was your heart
I know it’s hurting you, but it’s killing me.

(This is the “Unholy Confession” which is God speaking his mind about humanity and the test which His Chosen Beloved must endure on the earthly plane. Being the one on the stand, either as witness with the testimony ..The Son speaking to The Father…or as a judge I am not sure, he knows the way to go no one is guiding him because he is God and he knows what he is doing…in essence, the test is hurting her, but it’s killing him, literally for he died for our sins…it’s is painful for both parties, even so, the test must continue.)

Nothing will last in this life,
our time is spent constructing,
now you’re perfecting a world… meant to sin.
Constrict your hands around me,
squeeze till I cannot breathe,
this air tastes dead inside me,
contribute to our plague.
Break all your promises,
tear down this steadfast wall,
restraints are useless here,
tasting salvation’s near.

(This is His Chosen Beloved speaking now to The World System built on this earthly plane, she has passed the test, she is fully awake.)

3. Chapter Four (as in Genesis Chapter 4, the story of Cain and Abel)

Give me your hand,
Blood is spilt and man will follow
Infernal man, punishment too great to bear
(Conceived and born was one of light
Rain and dark, the other born black knight)

Raise your head and taste the courage (the one of light)
Fall from grace, unholy knight

I’ve come here to kill you,
Won’t leave until you’ve died
Murder born of vengeance,
I close my brother’s eyes tonight… -This is Cain speaking of Abel

Give me your hand,
Blood is spilt and man will follow
Infernal man, punishment too great to bear
(Conceived and born was one of light
Rain and dark, the other born black knight)

Raise your head and taste the courage (the one of light)
Fall from grace, unholy knight

I’ve come here to kill you,
Won’t leave until you’ve died
Murder born of vengeance,
I close my brother’s eyes tonight… – Cain speaking of Abel

It’s cold tonight as the clouds turn grey
And from my hands to my brother’s grave
You took his side, you took his gift,
Feel the power of a fallen man, crestfallen man… – Cain Speaking to God

Far away in this land I must go,
Out of the sight of The One.
A punishment sent from his hand
A hardship that no one should know. – Cain speaking

Now go out of the sight of The One,
Away in this land you must go.

Where has he gone? What have you done?
A voice commands from high above this earth.
From the soil his blood cries out to me
Murder, liar, vengeance, deceit. -This God speaking to Cain after he murders Abel

Far away in this land I must go
Out of the sight of the One
A punishment sent from his hands
A hardship that no one should know – Cain Speaking

Now go out of the sight of the One
Away in this land you must go.

Leave a Reply

