Homemade Mayo & Dip

I love mayonnaise, in my opinion, it makes everything taste better.  For most of my life I ate store-bought mayonnaise, but I stopped when I learned that commercial mayonnaise is made with unhealthy soybean oil, which is mostly made from unhealthy genetically modified soybeans.  Soybeans are not a naturally high fat food, which means that they have to go through an artificial man-made chemical and high heat process in order to extract their oil, which makes the oil extremely TOXIC to the human body.  Not to mention that soybean oil also contains mostly polyunsaturated fat which is a known cancer causer.

But REAL MAYONNAISE is a delicious and health-promoting condiment!  The type I make is from a combination of extra virgin olive oil and extra virgin coconut oil, sometimes I also add in flax oil, and sometimes I use BACON GREASE…the bacon grease version makes a mean potato salad LOL 😀

Here is what you need:

  • 1 egg, room temperature
  • 2 egg yolks, room temperature (super fresh eggs, just minutes old, are the best for making mayo)
  • 1 tsp. mustard, any type
  • 1 tsp. lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp. whey (this will help to preserve the mayo..mayo with added whey will keep fresh for up to a month in the fridge)
  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 cup extra virgin coconut oil (at temps less than 76F this becomes a solid so you may have to gently warm it…NOT in the microwave…before using it to make mayo)
  1. Put the egg and yolks in a bowl (blender, food processor) with the mustard, and whey…blend together.
  2. Start whisking vigorously (blender or food processor on low) while dripping the oil very slowly, even drop by drop in the beginning. You’re creating an emulsion and if you put too much oil at once, it will separate and will be very hard to save. Whisk non-stop and use a towel under the bowl to help stabilize it.
  3. As you add more oil, the emulsion will form and the mayonnaise will start to thicken and you can pour the oil faster at this point.
  4. When all the oil is incorporated and the mayonnaise is thick, add the lemon juice and taste your creation….season to taste with salt and pepper.
  5. Store in an air-tight glass container (pint sized mason jars work well) in the refrigerator!

Variation: use 1/2 cup of bacon grease in place of either the olive or coconut oils.

I also like to make a dip using 1 cup of thickened (or greek style) plain whole milk yogurt with 1/4-1/2 cup mayonnaise added, along with 1/2 tsp. moist grey sea salt and about 1-2 tsp. onion powder, 1/2 tsp. garlic powder, and lots of freshly ground black pepper….this is a basic dip for everything from veggies to pretzels.  I will also do different variations adding freshly minced herbs….garlic chives, thyme, holy basil, and summer savory are some of my favorites.  If you take the dip and thin it with a bit of milk, cream, or buttermilk it also makes for a fantastic creamy salad dressing! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Homemade Mayo & Dip

  1. We use mostly olive oil but add pumpkin seed oil, hemp seed oil, and several other oils we buy from mountain rose herbs. Won`t touch store mayo. PS- I was young when those songs were cool. I`m not THAT much older than you! 😉 It was also because we were poor. My cousins passed things down when they got tired of them. As a kid I would clean my room while listening to Phil Collins cassettes (old people again!) on a used tape player. I never did know the current music unless people played it on the school bus. What a flashback!

  2. I didn’t think you were that much older than me! But now I understand, you were lucky to get so much good free music as a kid 🙂

Leave a comment