Homegrown Homemade Creamy Tomato Soup

DSCN0366

First I mince 5-6 cloves of homegrown garlic and saute that in butter in a large pot on the stove.

Then I dump the contents of a 1 quart jar of tomatoes, along with the juice, into the blender along with 1 cup of homemade chicken broth made from homegrown chicken, and generous amounts of oregano and parsley from the garden (I would have used basil too, but it’s still to early in the season for that.)

Then I puree all that till smooth and dump it into the large pot with the sauted garlic.

Then I add 3 cups of homegrown goat’s milk to that and heat over medium-high heat.

While that is heating, I take 4 homegrown eggs and separate the whites from the yolks.  When the soup in the pot is hot but not boiling I add a little bit at a time (1 tbsp. at a time at first) to the egg yolks, all the while whisking to incorporate the yolks into the tomato and milk mixture.  This is called “tempering” the yolks and I do this part carefully and slowly so as to avoid cooking the egg yolks and ending up with scrambled eggs.

When a good portion of the tomato/milk mixture has been whisked into the yolks and the mixture in the bowl is relatively the same temperature as the mixture in the pot I then dump all the contents of the bowl into the pot with the rest of the soup.

I then heat the soup over medium-low heat, carefully and slowly so as to avoid having scrambled eggs in my soup, till the soup thickens nicely, but does not boil.

I then season to taste with salt and pepper and serve it up with homegrown radishes, spring onions and homemade herbed goat cheese made from the homegrown goat’s milk.

Obviously this is waaaay better with fresh homegrown summer tomatoes (especially if you roast them first..) but home-canned ones are pretty tasty too!  And there you have it, another recipe using 100% homegrown ingredients 😀

One thought on “Homegrown Homemade Creamy Tomato Soup

Leave a comment