Homestead Diet Day Three

A.K.A “Wherein I gorge myself on spinach” 😉

So, ALL that spinach!  We’ve been eatin’ it that’s for sure!

DSCN0292   First, it was “green smoothies” consisting of 2c. of our goat’s milk, 4 egg yolks from our hens, 20 LARGE spinach leaves, a bit of stevia and a dash of nutmeg..and it was very surprisingly good!  I made three batches of smoothies and everybody in the family had some, even the toddlers 🙂

DSCN0294

my 2 1/2 year old daughter, Charity, with a mouth full of spinach…who says toddlers don’t like vegetables? 😉

Then we had spinach salads, a new batch of homemade homegrown cornbread and our goat’s milk for lunch.  (Charity has juice in her cup in the picture ’cause I gave her grape juice after she finished all her milk..)

And then for dinner, Nathan and I had Indian Food (this dish was too “sophisticated” for the kiddos -ewww mom it looks like throw up- so I made something else for them..).  A recipe that I found online while searching for spinach recipes, called “Palak Paneer”.  It involves an Indian Cheese called paneer, one which I am quite familiar with as it was one of the first cheeses I ever learned to make from our goat’s milk.  Super simple to do!  For the recipe, click here.

the cubed paneer and chopped fresh cilantro from the garden

the cubed paneer and chopped fresh cilantro from the garden

I used this recipe for the dish, with a few minor changes.  I used RAMPS instead of onions and fortunately we still had a few jars of canned tomatoes leftover from last year, I also used homegrown garlic and garam masala for the seasoning.  And instead of the fresh green chilies I used a few shakes of our own homegrown habanero flakes and it was PLENTY spicy! lol

the finished dish with cilantro sprinkled on top

the finished dish with cilantro sprinkled on top

Total Calories: 1,512

2 thoughts on “Homestead Diet Day Three

    • Yes, of course! I grow them all and have been for years…as a matter of fact, we just picked a couple pounds of swiss chard yesterday 🙂

Leave a comment