One Week Without Sugar: Day Seven

Alright!  I made it through this one week without sugar, and I plan to keep going, but not continue with the blog posts as I am starting to get bored with this topic 😛

Here is what I ate yesterday (it was A LOT!):

12 oz. coffee w/ 6 oz. goat’s milk (from our goats)

3 eggs (from our hens) fried in 2 tbsp. butter

4 slices crispy fried bacon

A small sardine salad made with 1 can of sardines, chopped onion and dill pickle, and mayo (I prefer tuna, but sardines are more nutritious and aren’t canned in soy broth or soybean oil like most tuna is)

A “meat sandwich” with salami, mayo, and cheese

1 Vitamin Water ZERO

2 oz. fresh mozzarella cheeses balls

1 cup frozen “mixed stir-fry veggies” stir-fried with onions, ginger, and garlic in 2 tbsp. peanut oil

1 Sam Adams “Alpine Spring” beer

1 5 oz. glass Chardonnay

And here is my caloric breakdown from FitDay:

Starting yesterday afternoon I had this sort of deep-seated instinctual “driving hunger” pushing me to eat and eat and eat, but it wasn’t a “craving hunger” as I did not care to eat any sweets or chocolate or bread or anything like that.  I wanted a feast, a big “Thanksgiving Feast” type feast, and vegetables too, I am SO BADLY CRAVING fresh garden vegetables!  I love the Kroger Brand stir-fry vegetable mix, it’s a mostly satisfying substitute…I typically stock my freezer full when they go on sale (about every 6 months or so) for 88 cents each.  I’m thinking  that the increase in appetite has something to do with the breastfeeding, as my little man finally cut his first tooth during this week and he did a lot of extra feeding for comfort’s sake, causing an increase in my appetite.  But this morning I haven’t felt hungry, not once yet.

Well, at the beginning of this “Week without sugar” I weighed 201 pounds with a waist measurement of 37 inches and a hip measurement of 48 1/2 inches.

I weighed myself and took measurements this morning and I am happy to report that I have lost a total of 8 POUNDS and 3 1/2 inches!!  I now weigh 193 pounds, my waist measurement is 35 inches and my hips are at 47 inches….I also lost 1 inch in my bust.

A couple of weeks ago I found this really cool website where you can create a virtual model of yourself and try on different clothes…the model that you create is based upon your weight, height, and body shape…so I thought it might be a handy way to show weightloss without having to show actual full body pictures of myself just yet.  I will do so, I have pictures of what I looked like just 3 months after giving birth…and I plan to take a picture of myself and the weight loss achieved after this “week without sugar”….and once I get to a size 12, meaning once I can get my butt into my favorite pair of sz. 12 jeans, I will then post real full body pictures on here.  Until then, you’ll just have to make-do with these pictures 😀

On 1/1/12 I started at 211, I now weigh 193, I want to weigh 161…what I weighed when I married

If anyone has any questions about my “One Week Without Sugar” experience feel free to ask away in the comments, I will do my best to answer them as thoroughly as I can….

6 thoughts on “One Week Without Sugar: Day Seven

  1. Hi Stephanie! I’m new to your blog, and I can’t possibly thank you enough for this series on the secret to the ideal diet!! Currently, I’m starting on a herbal gallbladdar cleanse because I’ve been having great difficulty digesting fats (Good fats, I mean, eg, cod liver oil, butter, etc.). So, once I’m to the point where I can once again digest the most important foods without being bloated, etc, I will then eagerly be starting this wonderful, simple, diet! I’m also THRILLED to be now regularly eating those Dosas that you shared the recipe for, and I’ve been fasinated with the grain-to-bread post too. And I found your husband’s website deeply informative also. Thank-you SO much for sharing your beautiful life with us, God Bless You dear Sister! Mrs Allen

    • Wow, you radiate such a beautiful positive attitude Mrs. Allen! Thank you so much for this lovely comment, it really made my day… I am very pleased that my blog posts and my husband’s website have been so helpful to you…God Bless You Too, Dear Sister! 😀

  2. I’m very intrigued with this. I just wanted to clarify, when you say without sugar, is that all sweeteners and fruits? Are natural sugars OK? What about honey? Maple syrup? I have always steered away from Splenda and the like, but what about Stevia or Agave Nectar? Are they OK in this? Thanks!

    • Jay, when I say one week without sugar I mean one week without, obviously, cane sugar but also any sweetener…no honey, no maple syrup (I even delayed tapping our maple trees just so I wouldn’t be tempted during this week), no Agave nectar and MOST DEFINITELY NO SPLENDA or any artificial sweetener. The only sweetener I used was stevia, which is an all-natural zero carb zero calorie plant based sweetener, I even grew it in my garden last year. Also nothing that “turns to sugar” in the blood stream, which would basically be ALL low fiber/high carb foods. I had no flour products of any sort, no bananas, no potatoes, no pasta. I was allowed only oatmeal, beans, and brown rice….but only as a sort of mental thing so that I would not “feel” restricted in my food choices, but I did not resort to eating them, not once. Basically I focused on meat, eggs from our hens, milk and milk products from our goats, lots of healthy fats like butter and coconut oil, and vegetables 🙂

  3. What are you fixing for the rest of the family while you do this?
    – do you buy your beef & bacon at the store or have you found an affordable grassfed source?

    Also, what’s a typical lunch menu for your children & husband?

    Thank you for sharing! 🙂

  4. Robyn, 75% of the time the rest of the family eats the same exact thing that I eat…unlike most children, mine, having been raised by gardeners, have no objection to eating vegetables. The only main difference is that I will make them a healthy carb, like potatoes or brown rice to round out the meal. Or, for example, I may make something like whole wheat sourdough pancakes with bacon and eggs for breakfast and I’ll just have bacon and eggs. We do have both a grassfed beef and pork source but it is seasonal, when we run out we buy from the store until more grassfed meat becomes available. I don’t really have a “typical lunch menu” for us, we’re usually so busy that lunch is really more of a snack than a meal, we typically have BIG breakfasts. During the growing season lunch may just be a big pot of veggies with lotsa butter, hardboiled eggs and glasses of goat milk….during winter it may be homemade salami with cheese and crackers and dried fruit or slices of apples. I mainly work around what we have and that can change a great deal, so I don’t really have planned menus as it doesn’t give me the flexibility that I need. I hope this brings some clarity! 🙂

Leave a comment