Egg and Cheese Pancakes

This is my adaptation of the recipe for egg and cheese pancakes found in the book Homo Optimus.  I make these for breakfast, the kids eat them with butter and a drizzle of maple syrup, I like them with butter and a sprinkling of Stevia in The Raw to give them a bit of sweetness. I also refrigerate them and use them as a bread replacement for sandwiches, taking two pancakes and smearing them with butter or homemade mayo and adding meat or cheese and thin slices of cucumber or tomato or red bell pepper or onion or lettuce from the garden…an easy, simple, tasty snack…2 or 3 of these sandwiches would make a good meal :grin:.

The recipe:

8 oz. softened, room temperature, cream cheese (you can use store-bought or if you have your own fresh milk source, like we do, you can make you own using a recipe like this or like this.)

8 eggs, divided (from our hens, of course)

1/4 cup unbleached all purpose flour (the original recipe called for 5 tbsp. .  but I lowered it to 1/4 cup, which is 4 tbsp, with no issue. . . this acts as a binder, adding a negligible amount of carbs, and it is preferable that white flour be used over whole wheat in this instance because it will not be fermented to neutralize phytic acid and other enzyme inhibitors that can wreak havoc with our digestive and immune systems…most of these “anti-nutrients” are found in the bran and germ of the wheat kernel.)

1/4 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. real sea salt

First remove the cream cheese from the fridge and set out and allow to come to room temperature, this may take as long as 12 hours (don’t use the microwave!), it is very important that it be allowed to soften though, if you don’t then you’ll end up with lumps of cream cheese throughout your batter.  Separate the eggs, put the yolks in a big bowl and sift in the flour and baking powder, add the salt and softened cream cheese and beat until batter is smooth and creamy.  Next take your egg whites and beat them just until stiff peaks form and gently fold the egg whites into the batter.  Cook on a griddle (cast iron makes the best pancakes imho) greased with butter or coconut oil, just like you would regular pancakes, using 1/8 cup of batter per pancake.  Makes about 40 small pancakes.

Nutritional Analysis Per Pancake (using 1/8 cup batter per pancake):

Calories: 37

Protein: 1.75g

Fat: 3g (1.5g saturated fat)

Carbohydrate: .825g

7 thoughts on “Egg and Cheese Pancakes

  1. My 4 year old daughter looked at the pictures and asked if they were pancakes, I told her they were. She then pointed to the lower left hand one in the bottom picture and said ‘That one is best, it looks happy!”

    After a 2nd look I think I agree, I can see a smiley face 😀

  2. I see what you mean, it’s got a big ol’ cheesy grin right? I can tell you one thing, they sure did make our tummies happy! 😉

    • This morning I had a tweaked version of your chocolate smoothie that you posted months ago under your week of sugar free eating.
      I omitted the eggs and the milk – using a full cup of the coconut milk and 1/2 cup of almond milk instead – due to allergies (interesting that I had no allergies of any kind prior to coming to this country)

      It was extremely tasty and has kept me fuller than most breakfasts do! I foresee this being enjoyed often 😉

  3. grains can be very difficult to digest for a lot of people, these are very light on the tummy though, I can eat 6 of them and still not feel bogged down and stuffed…just pleasantly satisfied and nourished 🙂

  4. I love your blog! Thanks for taking the time out of your busy life to write! I think about how much time I spend on the computer and how much time I COULD be investing that in our homestead!

Leave a comment