One Week Without Sugar: Day Five

Ok, yesterday I woke up wanting CHOCOLATE….so I made one of my special high fat low carb chocolate smoothies!  It was COLD with moderate-heavy at times snow for most of the day and drinking this took me back to last summer when I was heavily pregnant and drinking one of these shakes just about every single day…it is good 😀

my thick, creamy, chocolatey smoothie

To make the shake, get out your blender and fill it up with these ingredients:

  • 3 eggs (I can only endorse using homegrown eggs…from your own hens or from a local farmer…in the raw.  You couldn’t pay me to eat raw commercial eggs….well, maybe for a million dollars but that’s only cause I’ll be able to cover the hospital expenses should I get sick! 😉 )
  • 1/4c. thickened yogurt or greek style yogurt (Full Fat Greek God’s Yogurt is really good)
  • 1/3c. Organic Thai Kitchen brand canned coconut milk (I buy these in bulk from my co-op)
  • 1/2c. RAW goat’s milk (from our goats, of course!)
  • 2 tbsp. cocoa
  • 3 tbsp. Stevia In The Raw (made by the same company that makes Sugar In The Raw)
  • 1/4 tsp. Xanthan Gum (entirely optional…it’s for thickening so that the smoothie feels really rich and creamy)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt (this may seem weird, but it really helps to bring out the chocolate flavor…don’t knock it till you try it!)

Whirl it all up in the blender, stopping a couple times to scrape down the walls of the blender pitcher as the yogurt and coconut milk both like to stick…and the cocoa powder likes to stick to them.  I blend for at least a minute, whips it up real nice and creamy like.  Then I pour the whole thing into a big frosted mug and drink with a straw…YUMMERS!

Notes:  At 609 calories this is a whole meal unto itself, but with 46 grams of fat (26 grams saturated fat) it is a meal that should keep you satiated for at least 4-5 hours.  It also has 16 carbs and 30 grams of protein.  BTW, Xanthan Gum is an all natural thickening agent…”It is produced by the fermentation of glucosesucrose, or lactose by the Xanthomonas campestris bacterium. After a fermentation period, the polysaccharide is precipitated from a growth medium with isopropyl alcohol, dried, and ground into a fine powder. Later, it is added to a liquid medium to form the gum.” ~from Wikipedia

My other meal of the day was a sardine salad, involving 2 cans of sardines, chopped onion and dill pickle, 3 tbsp. mayo, couple squirts of mustard and a few dashes of hot sauce along with 1 5 oz. glass Chardonnay wine (only 3 carbs) and another glass later on in the evening.

Here is my FitDay breakdown:

I’m running short on time so instead of blabbering on about nutrition I’ll just leave you to be entertained by one of my most favorite weightloss documentaries 😀

One thought on “One Week Without Sugar: Day Five

Leave a comment