From Scratch Fresh Peach Dump Cake

Some of our "Belle of Georgia" white peaches on tree

Some of our “Belle of Georgia” white peaches on tree (100% organic)

We’re in the middle of peach harvest here and so I have been making all things peachy…the other day I was wanting a yummy moist delicious peachy type cake, I was thinking about maybe a dump cake or something similar.  I went searching online looking for a recipe and could find not a single one that didn’t call for canned peaches or a cake mix as part of the recipe and I don’t do cake mixes 🙄  …sooooo, I did what it seems I always have to do: make my own recipe!

The below recipe is the results of that endeavor 😀

First you need about 8-10 smallish medium type peaches peeled, pitted and sliced into the bottom of a well buttered 9″x13″ pan.

Sprinkle the peach slices with about 1/4 cup of demerara sugar and 1 tsp. ground ginger (I LOVE peaches with ginger! ..but if it’s not your thing then omit it…)

Let that sit while you make the cake batter, you’ll need:

  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cups demerara sugar
  • 4 large eggs (I used eggs from our hens)
  • 2 1/3 cups unbleached all purpose flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 cup milk (I used milk from our goats)
  • 1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp. pure almond extract

Cream together the sugar and butter till light and fluffy, beat in the 4 eggs and then sift together the flour and baking powder into the bowl, then add the milk and extracts, beat until well mixed and smooth.  Pour and spread evenly into the pan over the peaches, put into a 350F oven and bake for about 30-35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake portion comes out clean.  Remove and let cool completely before slicing.

the cake cooling on counter amidst green tomatoes and snap beans from the garden, and yes I like to drink wine when I cook :D

the cake cooling on counter amidst green tomatoes and snap beans from the garden, and yes I like to drink wine when I cook 😀

and here it is, a slice of from scratch fresh peach dump cake, it all it's glory!

and here it is, a slice of from scratch fresh peach dump cake, it all it’s glory!

4 thoughts on “From Scratch Fresh Peach Dump Cake

Leave a comment