Summer Wanes

I walk without flinching through the burning cathedral of the summer. My bank of wild grass is majestic and full of music. It is a fire that solitude presses against my lips. ~Violette Leduc

“Let your children be as so many flowers, borrowed from God. If the flowers die or wither, thank God for a summer loan of them.” – Samuel Rutherford

Rest is not idleness, and to lie sometimes on the grass on a summer day listening to the murmur of water, or watching the clouds float across the sky, is hardly a waste of time. ~John Lubbock

“I celebrate myself, and what I assume you shall assume, For every atom belonging to me as good belongs to you. I loafe and invite my soul, I lean and loafe at my ease … observing a spear of summer grass.” – Walt Whitman

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Summer Wanes

  1. Unbelievable- A year has already gone by since we were there during that “big” earthquake…remember getting jostled in your living room? WO!

    • Yes that earthquake was certainly something! And then almost 1 YEAR to the date (yesterday afternoon) a big dumb storm comes rolling through and knocks out the electricity for 12 hours…quite annoying! 😐

Leave a comment